Wish I had a waffle house

If you read my last post, you’ll know that I recently graduated from high school. Like I mentioned there, everyone says it’s just a wonderful time and blah blah blah. I mentioned a lot of things that I wasn’t prepared for. I have encountered a new one:

Friends becoming douche bags.

I’ve had a lot of friends. Many guy friends. Most of them ended up liking me at some point. Which I’ve dealt with and gotten over. Many friends that were girls. Few of them I thought would be there forever. But girls and guys alike have just turned into people I don’t recognize and don’t want to be associated with. I used to be able to walk the halls of my school and smile at those I considered friends. I used to be able to text like 20 friends at a time, all outside of school. Suddenly…I count my friends on one hand. My father, who graduated from a class of 800, says

“You’ll count your best friends on one hand.”

He also said that at the five-year reunion, 13 were dead, 7 in prison. My class is…well, since I’m horrible at fractions and not even going to try to figure out what it would be (once again, I’m amazed I graduated), was 40 people (would that be like 1/18th?) I’ve come away with…*maybe* one life-long friend, and 20 acquaintances. I’ll miss a few members of the staff more than my classmates, even. I just find that bad. I wonder how many of my classmates will be dead…I can imagine at least 3 in prison. Also bad.

But I’m just wondering…what happened? Where did things go just terribly wrong and I lost a bunch of people I once considered friends? Is it just part of the process “everyone grows up, moves off to college, and drifts apart” but that ‘drift apart’ part sometimes comes first? I’m a little lost. It’s even happened with the underclassmen I planned on visiting for homecoming. Now…I wouldn’t be heartbroken if I missed it. Some of them aren’t worth talking to.

Did I change? Did they? Did I suddenly become older and cynical? (more than usual 😛 )

Really. What happened?

Ugh the frustration of losing friends…makes today unpleasant. Makes me wish I could just go sit in a 24-hour waffle house to sit and mull things over in with a cup of black coffee.

If anyone could shed a little light on this situation, it’d be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance 🙂

~ by sider13 on May 23, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
